Urban Research in Photography and Film

  Visual Research of Cities  

Description

Exploring how the city has been a photographic topos since the invention of the camera and how it creates new perspectives for a visual urbanism, these will be the goals of this seminar. Urban photography as a research-based artistic practice offers urban planners and architects methods and techniques for a critical, reflexive practice of spatial design. Experimenting with new perspectives we can apply some of these methods to specific urban issues and urban situations and integrate them into our professional thinking and design processes.

Participants will explore photography and filming as research processes and use them to create short visual and or written works on selected topics. The seminar offers a platform in conversation with photographers and urban researchers. Also integrated are some exhibition visits as well as a photography workshop led by photographer Lard Buurman.

 

Module

Elective Module
M.Sc. // all semesters

Dates

On fridays, 10:30 - 12:00 a.m.
Online per Zoom / in presence

Friday, April 08, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, April 22, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, April 29, 2022, in presence: Düsseldorf exhibition visit
Friday, May 06, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, May 13, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, May 20, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, May 27, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, June 03, 2022, in presence: Cologne exhibition visit
Friday, June 17, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, June 24, 2022, on Zoom
June 30, 2022 until July 03, 2022: Photography-Workshop and Hamburg excursion
Friday, July 08, 2022, on Zoom
Friday, July 15, 2022, in presence: Cologne exhibition visit

Accompanying Content

You can download the corresponding lecture content for follow-up purposes on RWTHMoodle.